Officer Kevin LaRocco is a certified “Child Passenger Safety Technician”. He has completed an extensive course that has certified him in installing child car seats.
Most important is that your child’s car seat is installed properly.
The easiest way to make sure it is installed properly is to simply contact the Wellfleet Police Department and schedule a safety inspection and installation of your car seats.
We will inspect for:
- Proper sizing of seat and restraints
- Defects and age of seat
- Proper installation of the seat
Any problems will be fixed and you will leave with a safe and properly installed seat.
Harnesses need to be very snug at all times. One to two fingers should fit snugly between the harness and the child’s collar bone. The Harness clip should be positioned across the center of the child’s chest at armpit level.
During winter months, try to limit clothing while in the car and in the car seat. Basically you want the least amount of material between the car seat, the child and the harnesses. You can always use blankets to keep them warm. Remember unlike you, sometimes they can’t take off the extra layers in the car and might risk overheating.
Why a Car Seat?
Massachusetts CPS Law
MASSACHUSETTS STATE LAW REQUIRES ALL CHILDREN UNDER 40 POUNDS OR FIVE YEARS OF AGE TO BE RESTRAINED IN A CHILD SAFETY SEAT. STATE LAW THEN REQUIRES ALL CHILDREN TO BE “PROPERLY RESTRAINED”. PARENTS AND CAREGIVERS SHOULD BE AWARE THAT AT FIVE YEARS AND 40 POUNDS AN ADULT SEATBELT ALONE WILL NOT “PROPERLY RESTRAIN” A CHILD. A CHILD SHOULD BE USING A BOOSTER SEAT IN CONJUNCTION WITH AN ADULT LAP AND SHOULDER BELT UNTIL THEY ARE 4’9” TALL.
Use the guide below as a general guide to identify the appropriate type of safety seat for your child. Refer to seat and vehicle manufacturers’ instruction for specific details.
AGE: Birth -12 months
TYPE OF SEAT: Your child under age 1 should always ride in a rear facing car seat.
AGE: 1-3 Years
TYPE OF SEAT: Your child should remain in a rear-facing car seat until he/she reaches the top height or weight limit allowed by your child seat’s manufacturer. Once your child outgrows the rear-facing seat, he/she is ready to travel in a forward-facing seat with harness
AGE: 4-7 Years
TYPE OF SEAT: Keep your child in a forward-facing car seat with a harness until he/she reaches the top height or weight limit allowed by your child seat’s manufacturer. Once your child outgrows the forward-facing seat, he/she is ready to travel in a booster seat in the back seat of the car
AGE: 8-12 Years
TYPE OF SEAT: Massachusetts law requires that your child be secured in a federally approved booster seat/safety belt combination until he/she is 8 years old or over 57” tall. At that time, your child is ready to wear an adult safety belt. Remember that the safest place for your child is in the back seat of the vehicle
For more Child passenger Safety information:
Visit the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration at www.nhtsa.gov